Blog stuff - Page 001

It’s been nearly a year since my last Ridd Quicks; an update is highly overdue!!

~ 1 ~

P1090727Summer. For some reason I’m still stuck on Summer. I had so many great plans in the works for the boys and I, mostly with the help of a gazillion Pinterest ideas that would help me utilize my backyard with items like plastic sheeting, bed sheets or pool noodles. Tried the tent. It worked, sort of…but it didn’t help that it was HOT and the tent wasn’t entirely in the shade. Got some pool noodles, but all they ended up being used for was something the boys could hit each other with. The one thing that seemed the most successful was slime. I suggest white glue over clear glue, but either way, it’s still an activity that helps keep my guys busy at the kitchen table while I’m getting dinner ready.

~ 2 ~

P1100005So while we did have some fun over the summer, like a great camping trip with family in Oregon, it was also a very frustrating summer. I battled migraines throughout most of it and along with the migraines came fun things like nausea, vomiting, the works. I figured it was all due to the hormonal funk that I’ve been in for 2 years now. But I was getting the headaches so often that we decided to do further testing. Thankfully nothing was found to explain why I was suffering from them. I did begin to see a pattern in them, though. They would typically start in the overnight hours, which would mean there might be something in the house that was affecting me. Our 45-year-old house still had original windows in it and we thought there may be a level of toxic mold that was affecting me. All that to say, we got new windows! And so far, I’ve only had a few minor headaches, but nothing like the migraine or associated nausea.


~ 3 ~

Speaking of the house, it’s looking quite different from when we moved in nearly 5 years ago. Here’s what it started out as:

P1030331

And here’s what it looks like now:

P1100482

The windows are by far the best investment we’ve ever made in a house. Still need to replace the front door, and I still have loads of work to do on the front and backyard landscaping. One project at a time…

~ 4 ~

We have acquired 2 new “members” to our family over the summer. The first being a bigger car.  When we bought our Highlander 6 years ago, both Hubs and I were convinced we would never need another car, at least until our children were grown.

Hah.

For anyone buying a car before the baby is born, let me recommend one thing: take the biggest car seat you can find with you when you’re shopping for the car. Install it in the backseat and then decide if the car will be big enough for your needs.

Needless to say, 2 humongous car seats in the backseat of our Highlander essentially eliminated our backseat and any extra space we thought we may have for other items, or people, while traveling. Thankfully we were able to get into a Sienna that is comfortable for our family while on road trips, and it also allows for me to carpool additional children. It also means we’ll be able to comfortably  receive a foster child when the timing is right.

~ 5  ~

The second addition to the family came at a much lower price but was also much more than I thought I would ever spend on a vacuum cleaner. We have mostly carpet in the house and a cat. Still unsure if my headaches were due to mold allergy or maybe dust or pet allergy, we decided to take the plunge on a Dyson vacuum. It helped that Costco had a coupon and the model we bought was already at a discounted price. After reading reviews, I decided that Dyson’s were a lot like cars. You either loved them or hated them. If you loved them, it’s because they are superior to anything else you’ve ever tried. If you hated them, it’s because you essentially got a “lemon” model. So far we have completely loved our Dyson! Granted, it’s absolutely disgusting each and every time we vacuum, but that’s only because of how much dirt, pet hair, and other icky stuff gets pulled up from the carpet. It’s amazing how “clean” we humans think we are!

~ 6 ~

P1100380I now have 2 children in school, which is kinda crazy and kinda cool at the same time. D continues to thrive in the private “homeschool setting” school we have him in and L is starting his first year of preschool at the same preschool D attended for 2 years. It’s given me a few hours of “free” time in the mornings each week, but I’m still amazed how long it takes me to get anything done.

Like posting to a blog…