…of the rest of your LIFE. That’s what I wish I could express adequately to my just-turned 2.5 yr old son.

Today marks the first “official” day of training…potty training. And from nearly the first moment my adequacy as a mother was challenged. I did SOME research. I talked to a few mom’s, including my own. And I quickly became aware that there are approximately 3 million different ways / viewpoints / opinions as to the BEST way, age, etc. to potty train a child. (OK, I do tend to exaggerate at times, but that’s just how it feels!)

I have a “plan” for my method of training; I thought I was choosing the best “time” for my child. But it quickly became apparent to both Hubbs & I that we should definitely have started this journey at least 6 months ago, if not sooner, for various reasons.

Alas, it is what it is. And that is what I’m learning more than anything about motherhood these days. Our journey into potty land will be more challenging, possibly, because we waited until now. But who’s to say other challenges wouldn’t have arisen had we started when he was just 2 yrs old? At least that is what I will cling to & hopefully will console me when the going really starts to get rough!

So yes, there were tears that fell today (which is completely against everything they tell you potty training should be – fun! no pressure!). But at the end of this first day, watching him run around with joy on his face & laughter in his voice, I took a deep breathe & realized that the events of the day may have challenged him, but he can take it.

He’s my boy, after all.

