For some reason, I have been on a mission to find the perfect enchilada recipe. I’m not exactly sure why, as I almost never order an enchilada when I’m eating out. I usually go for the tostada or the burrito or a taco.

But, regardless of the reason, I continue my search. I came across Sam the Cooking Guy about a year ago. I love his recipe structure: minimal ingredients, easy directions, pretty good results. I’ve really only tried 2 or 3 of his recipes and my favorite so far is his BBQ Chicken Pizza (with adaptations).

So when I came across his version of chicken enchiladas, it seemed like the perfect match. Easy ingredients, a little twist, and easily made in less than an hour. Unfortunately I  failed to take a photo of the dish, but it looks divine!

Even though I have a very particular husband when it comes to cheese and white / cream sauces, he actually enjoyed these, along with our preschooler and 9-month old! I thought it was good but it still wasn’t that “perfect” recipe…so my mission continues! I can, however, highly recommend it since it was so easy and yummy. 

I almost always adapt a recipe, so I’ll list my adaptations here, then give you the actual recipe:

  • I used 2 cups of chicken, not 3. It was the perfect amount & it resulted in giving us 9 slim enchiladas, rather than 7 or 8 “hunky” enchiladas
  • I only used 2 oz. of green chilies. I’m not a big fan of “hot” spicy plus we do have 2 little ones who sometimes eat the main dish as well. It was just enough for my tastes, although Hubbs would have been fine with the whole 4 oz. can.
  • I completely omitted the chipotles, even though I did purchase a can, just to test them out – whew!! Those babies were HOT!!
  • I used Guerrero wheat tortillas – quite yummy!
  • I added chopped black olive as well as a sprinkling of the shredded Monterey Jack cheese in each enchilada. This allowed me to use up the entire 2-cup bag of shredded cheese. I also threw some black olives on top of the cheese.

Here’s the actual recipe:

Chicken Enchiladas
by Sam at thecookingguy.com
Yields: 8 enchiladas

  • 3 cups shredded cooked chicken (perfect use of a deli roasted chicken)
  • 1 cup Salsa Verde (green salsa)
  • (1) 4-oz can chopped green chilies
  • 1-2 Tbsp chopped chipotles in sauce (more if you like it hotter)
  • (8) 8-inch flour tortillas (soft taco size)
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cups (1 pint) whipping cream
  • 1.5 – 2 cups Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  1. Mix first 4 ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Pour 1/2 the whipping cream in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.
  3. Pour chicken broth in bowl and one by one submerge each flour tortilla.
  4. Place approximately 1/8 chicken mixture in each wet tortilla and roll up.
  5. Place all 8 side-by-side in dish, sprinkle with cheese, and pour remaining whipping cream over top.
  6. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Do you have a favorite enchilada recipe that you can share? What do you like about it? If I decide to try your recipe out, I’ll review it on my blog & I’ll even remember to take a picture of it!

