Sometimes you get what you wish for.

If you were with me at the beginning of this blog, then you know I talked a lot about the weather – mainly because we weren’t having any! Well, we were, but somehow sunshine doesn’t constitute as “weather” to me.

I lived in the desert for over 15 years, so when we moved to Northern California, I was hoping for a change of pace. Namely, RAIN.

For the first 2 years we lived here I think we had less than 10 episodes of rain, if you could call it that. I couldn’t believe how dry it was here, considering Las Vegas had a monsoon season every summer! It was frustrating and oh, how I would dream of rainy days.

I would look forward to our visits to Oregon a few times a year, hoping to have a good spell of rain while there. Most of the time we brought that big yellow ball in the sky with us. Again – frustrated.

Then came the Winter of 2009. RAIN. 2010 rolled around – MORE RAIN.

And how do you think I’m feeling?

Blue as blue can get!! And not only is it wet, but it’s fairly warm. Do you know what warm, wet weather brings?

Mosquitos – in large quantities.

Weeds – the size of the Amazon, I’m telling you!

Just another reason I won’t be moving to Florida anytime soon.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m so thankful it’s NOT cold here. Even though it’s wet, it’s completely manageable because a light coat with a hood will suffice. But my Bubbs doesn’t like taking “wet walks” like I had hoped, and anytime we head out the door just to escape the confines of our dark home I end up spending money – something Hubbs doesn’t necessarily appreciate, apparently.

I’m finding that in order to enjoy the dark skies, rain or not, I need to come up with an action plan. Some way to beat the “blah” of the day and enjoy the season, knowing that the sunshine will soon be making it’s arrival for a long while.

Any ideas? How do you beat the winter blues?

