I tend to be one of those people who defaults to the future too much. Meaning, I tend to think or say things like, “If I can just get through X, then X can happen.” or “Once the boys are X, then X.” It’s as though I’m not really focusing on TODAY and all that it has to offer me because TOMORROW looks or feels easier, calmer, more manageable.

It’s something I’ve worked hard at not doing, especially once my kids came along. But it’s not my natural instinct to simply “live in the moment”, thoroughly enjoying the here and now. I have to be very intentional about it; it’s a discipline, really.

And that’s where I’m finding myself with exercising. I love it. LOVE it. But at the moment, it is a big fat ZERO in my schedule. If it’s something I really and truly love to do, then why aren’t I making time for it?

Because since my Wee Bubbs was born, it’s never been “the right time.” I had a great little routine during the pregnancy; I went to a gym very close by, I was giddy nearly every time I was able to take a yoga class, and I even loved just getting on the treadmill for 45 minutes. Bubbs enjoyed the childcare time because, well, because there were other kids there. And I felt awesome because I was tending to my needs and my needs only as well as getting the benefit of good health because I was exercising.

I was so serious about staying fit that I invested in my first pair of running shoes. Never in a million years would I have plunked down $175.00 for a pair of ghastly green shoes, let alone ones that I only use for exercise. But it was a great investment and yet another reason that I should be doing something, rather than NOTHING.

May is my target month to get to my local gym at least 3 days a week. I would start sooner but family is coming to stay with us because of my brother’s upcoming surgery and I’m still under the weather with various cold symptoms.

So, as much as I can’t stand Nike, I do think they’re slogan is pure genius.

Just Do It.

