Since I’m now officially a “gardener” this summer, I thought I’d try my hand at composting. After a little research (are you proud of me?) I decided to take the easy route and start with open-air composting.

My reasons are simple:

  • it’s free
  • I have the space
  • I can start immediately
  • I already have the materials to construct a barrier around the pile (metal stakes & chicken wire)

Good enough for me!

I found this site and this site to be very helpful in learning the in’s and out’s of composting. I may even go so far as to buy me some worms! But for now, I’m just throwing some leaves and other “browns” and “greens” onto the pile. I’ve got a plastic bin in the fridge with some food scraps started. Once that bin is full, they’ll be added to the pile.

Can you feel the excitement??

