IMG_2820 No doubt about it, food is a trigger for memories. And melon is a big memory trigger for me.

I lived in Las Vegas for nearly 15 years and was rarely disappointed when it came to melons. I’ve always loved melon. Always. There’s hardly a melon I don’t like, but my all-time faves are watermelon, cantaloupe and honeydew.

I have met more than one person who doesn’t care for watermelon and all I can do is shake my head in wonder…it’s sweet water with a crunch (if it’s a good melon). What’s not to love??

But I digress.

My memory trigger with melon these days is pregnancy. When I was pregnant with D, my first child, I believe I ate a melon a day. No joke. As much as I loved the stuff before pregnancy, it was ten-fold during the pregnancy. And it’s a good thing I was living in the desert, because it was much cheaper and sometimes even tastier than the melons I typically find here in Nor Cal.

I’ve tried growing my own melons, with no luck. Yes, they look like a melon. No, they definitely didn’t taste like a melon.

My melon crave hasn’t lessened since our move from Vegas, but the yummy tasty sweet goodness has definitely not been matched but for a few times.

But today has made up for all the ho-hum tasting melons I’ve had over the last few years.

Today I tried a “Sugar Kiss” cantaloupe.

Heaven

I have no idea if they actually did in fact infuse these bad boys with real sugar, but I really don’t want to know. Their sweet goodness is divine. Addictive. Delish.

Then I cracked open the honeydew. Sweet nectar. Another fine choice.

The watermelon was better than the $3 dud I picked up at Target last week (last time I’ll be trying “fresh produce” at Target…at least for awhile). But still, I’ve had better.

IMG_2822

Ahhh – a fridge of melon. One of (my) life’s little pleasures. That and the corn on the cob I can see peeking through the glass on the bottom…but that’s for another post.

P.S.  I’ve updated the Meal Ideas page, so head on over and get some ideas for planning your meals this week!

