I like to read. A lot. Always have and I’m pretty sure I always will.

Problem is, I have two children. Under the age of 5. And really, ever since I came face to face with child #1, my reading habits have taken a nosedive. Once child #2 arrived, I knew the amount I could read in a day, let alone a sitting, would not be the same for quite some time.

Then blogs came into my world. Perfect! They help meet the reading need for me as well as allow me to learn new things, stay connected, get encouraged, get discouraged (I’m a mom, it happens), well, you get the idea.

Lately I’ve been doing a lot of reading of a different nature: reading the funnies. I think I’ve always been a die-hard fan of the Sunday funnies, probably because they’re in color…sounds silly, but kind of true.

The small-ish town I live in has a daily “paper” that, quite honestly, is difficult for me to really classify as a newspaper. It quickly becomes “The Daily Disappointment” when you’ve been reading for 3 seconds and have found the first of many incorrect spellings, missed verbs, wrongs names, etc. But regardless, they do have a comics section and that’s where I typically head first.

At least a few times a week I get a good laugh out of them. I might cut the cartoon out and post it on my ‘fridge or my mirror. Those Baby Blues, they always get me…the comics are fast, current, and I’m still waiting to find a typo.

Tonight I found a gem in blog-land. Again, a quick and easy read but packed chock-full of FUNNY. Just what I need at the end of a day when I’m sweating to high-heaven, dreaming of a good massage, and wondering if the boys will sleep past 6am tomorrow morning.

World’s Worst Moms

Check it out. And if you don’t laugh within the first 2 posts, well, I’m afraid I’m going to have to know WHY. I mean, with a title like The Giant Butt of Target, please explain how that is not funny! I found myself wiping tears from my eyes and being thankful the posts are short because I need a moment to collect myself before moving onto the next task in my day, like, brushing my teeth.

It’s a very new blog so there aren’t many entries, but that just gives me something to look forward to, at the end of my day, before the night-shift begins…

Oh, and here’s one more story to give you a chuckle – or MORE. It’s not a super-fast read, but honestly, I had to stop so many times throughout the story so I could wipe the laughter-tears from my eyes. Then I tried reading it out loud to hubby and again, more laughter.

The interesting thing about the humor in all of these stories is that I just don’t think they would be so funny to me had I read them before becoming a mom. This “new world” I’m living in gives me such connection in ways I could have never known.

Now go get yourself some laughter!

