In my memory, this year’s Thanksgiving week has been the sweetest, most thankful days of my life. And that’s saying a lot, as I personally feel blessed beyond belief for the life God has given me thus far.

My hubby and I were blessed to have a few days of “us time” before the festivities began. My children were blessed to have a joyful time with their loving grandparents and their precious great-grandmother. Communication between family members was rich, filled with laughter, encouragement, story-telling, and memory sharing.

The weather – oh, the weather. Beautifully sunny days, crisp cool nights with a roaring fire, chilly mornings with hot coffee, and kids in pajamas.

On Thanksgiving Day I was wakened at 5am by my littlest, along with a pounding headache and a nauseous stomach. Two hours later I was convinced I had the flu and dove under the covers, desperately praying the illness would pass quickly or at least not spread to others that day. 9:30 rolled around and I was able to get myself into the shower. By 9:45, the doorbell rang and family began to arrive.

I didn’t have the comforts of being in my home, but I have a loving family and a fantastically supportive husband. I was able to visit with others, go rest for a bit, eat a little something, visit, rest. Spent some time outdoors with the boys, rested for a bit more.

So much to be thankful for, even in the midst of feeling “ucka”, as my mother-in-law would say.

Friday morning brought a headache again, but a lot less of it. Smells of sausage and egg frittata and brewing coffee filled the air as my in-law family prepared to welcome the Thanksgiving guests back to the house for brunch. Cinnamon rolls arrived with family members, orange juice and home baked breads and muffins. The sun was shining brilliantly, the air was cool and it quickly became time for shorts and t-shirts.

More laughter, more stories. Football games and kids fighting over favorite toys. Walks around the block, older 2nd cousins pulling younger 2nd cousins in the wagon, croquet being played in the backyard.

These are the days of Thanksgiving in my family this year.

These are the moments, the people, the blessings I am so incredibly thankful for.

