Purposeful:
Resolved to do something; having a definite purpose in view

Intentional     Consider     Planned     Persist     Steadfast     Fixed     Meditated     Deliberate     Unwavering

January 1, 2010 I chose Contentment for my Word of the Year. When I chose that word, I was feeling thankful for the many blessings in my life but I was still finding myself “itching” for more. Translation: I had discontent in my life and I longed to be at peace, regardless of my circumstances – positive or negative.

Last year was the first time I had ever chosen a specific word as a “goal” of sorts and I really didn’t know what to expect from it. New Year’s resolutions in general haven’t really played a significant role in my life, BUT growing, changing, and challenging myself has. The discontent subsided over the year, and for that I am thankful.

“Purposeful” came to my mind back in November and I’ve just kind of chewed on it for awhile, letting it simmer while not really putting much thought into what a purposeful day would look like compared to what I already do.

One thing I do know: I need a change in focus from what I currently have going on here. It’s not like I’m trying to be “Super Mom” or “Wife of the Year”; that’s not my intent. Raising small children is mind-blowingly challenging, much more than anyone can ever really prepare you for. My desire is not to strive for perfection. Instead, I would like to see myself being more diligent in keeping the “bigger picture” in view. Focusing not just on the peanut butter and honey sandwich or the dirty kitchen floor, but also on the purposefulness of how I parent my children, how I show love to my husband, how I care for other people.

Do I think I can become the uber-organized mom who has it all together by the end of 2011? Absolutely not, at least not without a personal assistant, a maid, a personal chef, a hairdresser, and a masseuse at my disposal.

I simply long for focus. I don’t know – yet – what all I need to get there. My first action step is to keep a daily / weekly / monthly calendar. My desire is to not just look at the day but also what’s ahead in the next month. I am tired of feeling behind, overwhelmed, unfocused.

My little family has some big changes for us ahead, possibly beginning this summer. (I’ll be writing more about that in the weeks to come.) So as I searched for a Bible verse that would help me understand the “why” of keeping my view on the bigger picture, I came across this jewel:

card2011 - Page 001

My personal nature would believe that I am “strong enough” to endure the planned-for changes ahead. Planned or not, my strength should not come from myself. This is a journey that involves a lot of unknowns for Hubbs and I, but there is peace believing that God knows full well what lies ahead for us in the weeks and months to come.

So it is with purposefulness that I embark on 2011, trusting in God’s goodness and seeking Him for the strength needed each day.

