Quick Takes are hosted over at Conversion Diary.

12x12 - Page 003

~ 1 ~

clip_image002Orange juice is kind of a big deal in this house. If you know anything about Hubbs and cheese, then you’ll know what I’m talking about. Try as I might to find a cheap deal, it never flies. Never. If it’s not Simply Orange, (original, pulp free), then it’s not even worth putting in the fridge. Since Simply Orange runs nearly $5.00 a bottle, and since Hubbs is the main drinker of the OJ, I try every now and then to switch things up a bit. Sorry Hon, if a half-gallon is on sale for $2.50, then that’s what’s going in the cart. Deal. So at my last visit to the grocery store, Simply Orange was not on sale. Scanning the gazillion options for OJ, I notice Trop50. It says “No Pulp” on the top of the label.  It said it had 50% less sugar and calories and it was orange in color. Skinny OJ. Whatever. Get it home. Hubbs glances at it, grimaces, shakes it up and gives it a whirl. Apparently, I now need my reading glances outside the home, because Trop50 is slang for TANG. Oops…

~ 2 ~

You know the adage, boys will play with guns even if there aren’t any guns around? Or something like that…well, we don’t have any kind of gun to speak of in our home. And that adage is correct; throughout the year there will be make-shift guns played, usually in the backyard. My only rule has been to not point said gun into anyone’s face. If you want to shoot someone, it has to be below the heart, to be fair, you know! So one morning, the boys were in the bathroom while D was on the big potty and L was sitting on his potty (fully clothed, of course – baby steps…). I hear the “shooting” happening and when I opened the door, I saw them both playing with this:

IMG_0666They got the flossers out of the trash and then fashioned the toothpick part into a gun.

IMG_0665

Resourceful, eh?

~ 3 ~

My word of the year, “Purposeful” has only gotten me so far this week. Didn’t help that I started the first week of the year not feeling so hot…for 3 days. I found it very difficult to even come close to being “purposeful” when it came to my daily routine with the boys. D heads back to preschool next week (3 weeks off from school – terrible!!), so I’m hoping to feel a “fresh start” when it comes to being purposeful!

~ 4 ~

Want to know a great way to have a quiet lunch where each kid eats nearly everything on his plate and you can quietly go about your business and not have to shuffle back and forth from the table to the counter? Make sure you schedule their lunchtime right when the guys with chainsaws and other tree-limb-cutting devices are being used.

IMG_0683

Works wonders.

~ 5 ~

I finally finished the family “Christmas” card. It is now known as the family “New Years” card. Should be arriving in mailboxes, both electronically and otherwise, in just a few days. Be on the lookout!

~ 6 ~

Three friends of mine are new to the blogosphere, so join me in welcoming them! Two are from Vegas and one is right here in Nor Cal. I am looking forward to hearing all kinds of things from Monique, Lori, and Kristi in the weeks to come.

~ 7 ~

I’ll end this Ridd Quicks with a quick Ridd recipe! I’ve had a variation of a frittata on several occasions and I’m usually not loving it because it’s loaded with onions or green chilies. But my mother-in-law makes a simpler version and we had it as part of our yummy morning-after-Thanksgiving brunch. I made it last night to bring to a Bible study this morning and the thing was devoured. Easy. Quick. Delish. Just remember to make it the night before you need it!

Sausage Frittata

– 6 eggs

– 2 whole French sandwich rolls, cubed (original recipe calls for 2 slices of day-old bread)

– 2 cups of milk

– 1 cup of grated cheddar cheese (more if preferred)

– 1 lb. of sausage, drained and cooled (I used Italian seasoning, but you could use country-style for a spicier dish)

– 1 tsp. salt

– 1 tsp. dry mustard

1. Lightly spray a 9×12 dish with cooking spray and add cubed bread.

2. Combine milk, eggs, and seasonings.

3. Add sausage & a 1/2 c. of cheese.

4. Pour mixture over the bread and sprinkle rest of cheese on top.

5. Let set overnight in the fridge.

6. Bake uncovered at 350 for 45 minutes.

Serves 8 to 10.

IMG_0681

Prepared and ready to bake!

