The days and nights around here have been filled with tackling the long-neglected but oh-so-needed yard work, painting the family room, and putting together Ikea bookcases. It’s gonna be awesome when it’s all done (the family room – the front yard still has much to be desired). The bookcases are up and “functioning” but they’re nowhere near organized. I will do my best to post pictures tomorrow but Hubbs and I were up until 1AM last night (thanks, Daylight Savings), doing nothing but opening boxes, counting hardware, and putting incredibly heavy pieces of wood together. For FIVE solid hours. “Exhausted” doesn’t even come close to explaining how I feel at the moment.

I am already looking forward to the rest we are going to get next weekend!

I’m needing to make some changes to my menus…I am not a confident cook when it comes to making a dish without reading a recipe. While I don’t mind doing it, my wallet definitely does! I’m going to try and limit my trips to the grocery store by really pondering what I have in my freezer, fridge and pantry, as well as attempting to “skip tradition” with my cooking style.

Recipe card? Who needs ‘em! I’ve been doing this full-time cooking thing for over 6 years now!

Fly by the seat of my pants at the stove? No problem!

See? My confidence is already improved…*gulp*.

The recipes I’ve picked this week were compiled because I have most of the ingredients on-hand (except St. Patty’s Day). The following weeks should be very interesting…and hopefully tasty, but I’m not making any promises…

Monday

Grilled fish with steamed veggies and sliced fruit

Tuesday

Chicken pot pie with garlic bread

Wednesday

Pancakes and bacon

Thursday ~ Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Corned Beef Brisket with honey-mustard glaze
Boiled Cabbage
Irish soda bread
(one of my all-time favorite meals to make!)

Friday

Sloppy Joes with chips and pickles (really good recipe and even the boys like it!)

Saturday

Eggplant Parmesan with green salad and garlic bread

Sunday

Glazed chicken with rice pilaf and fresh fruit

****************************

I’m off to bed and hopefully a solid 6 hours of sleep ahead of me. Lots of organizing efforts this week – wish me luck!

