celtic shamrockI couldn’t possibly post a recipe handed down from my mother-in-law without also posting a recipe from my own mother, one of the best cooks on the face of this planet! Growing up, there were several family traditions that centered around food and St. Patrick’s Day was definitely one of them. There would always be a heaping plate of corned beef, cabbage, a few other veggies and Irish soda bread. I’m not sure when Mom started this tradition, but I’ve enjoyed it ever since!

After dinner we would always watch Darby O’Gill and the Little People. I plan to incorporate the movie into my own family’s life once the boys are a little older.

I know there are countless ways to make a corned beef, but I thought I’d still throw out my mom’s recipe, since I think it’s one of the easiest dishes to make any time of the year that yields absolutely scrumptious results.

My brisket has been in the slow cooker since 7AM and it already smells divine!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Kathy’s Corned Beef and Cabbage

1 corned beef brisket with spice packet (use pickling spice if no spice packet)

2 TB honey

2 TB mustard

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 large head of cabbage, cut into large chunks

slice of apple or cut of celery

1. Place the brisket in a large slow cooker and sprinkle on the spices.

2. Fill the slow cooker with enough water to cover the brisket entirely.

3. Put on LOW for 50 minutes per pound (3.5 lb brisket needs 10 hours at least)

4. Once brisket is done, remove from slow cooker and scrape off the fat. Cut into slices and place slices (fanned out) on a cookie sheet with tin foil.

5. Mix together the honey, mustard and brown sugar, then brush onto the tops of the brisket slices.

6. Broil the brisket for approximately 10 minutes or until glaze is bubbly and brown.

7. When the brisket is under the broiler, add the cabbage to a large boiling pot of water or a large steamer. Either way, cook approximately 10 minutes, or until cabbage is fork tender. Add a slice of apple or a piece of celery to keep the strong cabbage smell away.

Serve brisket with cabbage and any other veggies or Irish soda bread and enjoy!

