So every now and then I come across a blog post or a series of blog posts that I think to myself, “That rocks!” or “What a great idea!” or “Man, that is one talented momma!”

I thought I’d share a few of my favorite posts from other blog writers that I happen to know. Take a peek around the blogosphere and enjoy!

~ ~ ~

Rob of A Fly in the Soup is a long-time friend of Hubbs’ from their days at Cal Poly and he was also a groomsmen in our wedding. I love reading about the adventures of the Dixon clan – partly because seeing life play out with people who have twice as many children as I do kind of fascinates me, and partly because it helps me get to know Rob and his family a little better.

Last week Rob and his wife Amy decided to spend a week living without a car. Here’s the post that started it all and here are the next 5 days:

Day 1: on van-hugs, bus rides and a certain rain squall
Day 2: on walking, and the increased importance of logistics
Day 3: on riding around Clovis
Day 4: on being dependent
Day 5: on kids who don’t complain

~ ~ ~

Lori of Mama Bean’s World is a long-time acquaintance of ours, originally knowing Hubbs and doing work with him and then eventually getting to know me since, well, since I became Hubss’ wife! She is a total crack-up kind of gal a straight shooter, and no doubt one of the smartest people I know. So when she started her blog, I knew I had to check it out. I had no idea how truly gifted she was at writing. Lori reminds me of Erma Bombeck in many ways (truly, Erma was the original blog writer!!).

Here are just a smattering of what I consider to be Lori’s top posts – ones that made me laugh out loud, brought me to tears or gave me some serious food for thought – much like Erma’s writing does. Enjoy!

Trapped inside the Magical Forest

Putting back the shopping cart and my Tao of Life

Dear Hollywood…

“Waiting for Superman”: One Mom’s Take

A Letter of Advice to my Children on Mother’s Day

~ ~ ~

Beth of Nebula is a personal friend of mine. We met in a mommy’s group awhile back and now our idea of “hanging out” goes something like this: once the kids are asleep (or at least ready for sleep) and there’s a hubby home then one of us swings over to the other’s place, we pop open our laptops and chat while we work on our blogs. I know, it’s a wild and crazy life we lead as mom’s to youngin’s, but that’s the way we roll!

Beth is working on the finishing touches of her manuscript and I can’t wait to celebrate with her when she is able to be a published author! For now she blogs about life as a mom to her youngin’ and the highs and lows of trying to write while keeping a child happy. Here are some of my faves from her blog.

Why Mr. Penguin Can’t Ride a Bike

The No-Nap Blues

Garden Envy

The 30 Day Shred’s Three Circles of Hell

Clean Up, Clean Up, Everybody, Everywhere…

Rule: You Just. Don’t. Ask.

~ ~ ~

Thanks for reading. I’ll try to remember to do another installment of “Stuff to check out” sometime. Have a great night!

