It happens with every transition into a new season.

I forget how to cook.

Or so it seems, anyways.

I look at a blank calendar for a new month, all fresh and clean, ready to be filled out with yummy meals for my family and all I can think about is spaghetti, soup, tacos and lasagna.

Blah.

It’s been even worse as summer weather seems to be here and then *poof* it’s back to winter-like weather. Of course the night I have chili planned because it was cold 2 days ago doesn’t really sit well on a night that is 75 degrees and screams BBQ weather!

Pile onto that a month that has been far busier than I had intended it to be as well as my mind being bombarded with all kinds of new things to think about and plan for, and something like “menu planning” goes right out the patio door.

Thus, I share with you my solution for a few meals this past week or so that have been easy preparation with yummy results! I’ll share a meal today and then a few more within the next few days.

IMG_1870Meal #1 – Chicken Baked Chops

This was a recipe that was hiding in my “recipe” folder in the emails, one that my mom sent me ages ago. I’d never tried it, but it looked easy enough and yummy enough, so I went for it. It was a winner for both Hubbs and I and even L – D doesn’t really do meat all that much, so he was a “no” but he liked everything else. IMG_1865

I paired the chops with steamed corn, minted peas and frozen potatoes (all from Trader Joe’s) and it was a meal that extended into lunch for both Hubbs and myself!

IMG_1867

Chicken Baked Chops

4 bone-in pork chops (1/2 inch thick)
     *i used 4 thick boneless chops; I recommend a thinner cut, but boneless worked fine
1 TB vegetable oil (olive works fine too)
1 can cream of chicken soup, undiluted
1/2 cup water
3 TB Worcestershire sauce
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper ( I used Susie Q’s seasoning)

– In a skillet, brown the pork chops in the oil.  Transfer to a greased 13×9 baking dish. (8×8 dish is fine if they all fit)
– Combine the remaining ingredients; pour over chops
– Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour or until meat juices run clear.

Happy meal planning!

