IMG_2138revToday was the last day of preschool for D. No matter what happens in the Fall, he won’t be going back to his ‘ol stomping grounds as a little guy with excitement about what he can play with. He won’t be seeing the same teachers every week who have loved on him and helped him have a great time the last 2 years.

IMG_2142rev

Today was the last day for a long while that D was able to spend time with his best buddy, E. D and E have been at the same preschool for 2 years. They spent their first year in Awana together. E was the first friend that D was able to have a sleepover with. When D and E part, they can’t wait until they get to see each other again. E, his mom and his little brother are flying out to Montana tomorrow. That’s where E’s dad is now, with all of their stuff in a big moving truck, waiting for them to arrive tomorrow so they can start their new life in a new land.

Today was the last day I was able to have a nice time of “momma chat” with C, E’s mom. C and her husband R have been fun getting to know these past 2 years. We have lived in this small town for over 4 years now and this is the second time Hubbs and I had to say “Goodbye” to friends that we got along with really well.

L and I were at the park this morning with friends from my moms group. My friend J told me she was moving this summer as well. J and I have gotten to know each other much better over this past year. Just like C and R, I knew the day was coming. It still just sounds so harsh when the reality is upon you.

For some reason, I thought moving to a smaller town would mean less change. Las Vegas was a place of constant change in so many ways, that surely a smaller town would mean more stability.

Today was a good reminder of why I need to put my hope in Jesus. Life is full of change. Some good, some bad. None of today’s change was “bad” change. It just is what it is. You can’t stay in preschool forever. Your friends have their own lives, their own families to consider. Friendships come and friendships go.

There is only One who stays the same.

Hebrews 13:8
Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

No matter what change tomorrow brings, Jesus will be my constant, the Rock that never moves.

Psalm 18:2
The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge. He is my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

