IMG_2296

I remember…

~~::~~

sharing a bedroom and listening to you snore while I tried to fall asleep

~~::~~

your teddy bear ~ I wonder where he’s gone to…

~~::~~

building forts in the living room, in the bedroom, anywhere that we could find

~~::~~

sleeping in the living room by the woodstove on Christmas Eve, excited to see what Santa would bring us in the morning

~~::~~

you driving me crazy with that big grin on your face during our epic-long car rides to Southern California…with no air conditioning

~~::~~

you being in trouble a lot, and me…not, probably with my own big grin

~~::~~

the camping adventures, most particularly the “Superman” spill when you fell out of our moving car

~~::~~

the “awkward” years for both of us, skinny as rails, goofy glasses, hair that went wherever it wanted to, zits, funny clothes, and stinky feet (that last one is all you, ‘bro)

~~::~~

the span of years when I didn’t know what would become of you, of me, of us, and how much I hoped it would change

~~::~~

the visit to Las Vegas when I thought for sure you would never want to visit me again – an entire day spent in record-breaking heat with no air conditioning and miles of desert to get to me; I still remember what you looked like when you walked into the Oneida store I was working at; I felt so much love from you knowing you didn’t just turn around and go back to your ocean abode

~~::~~

the hope of a new direction, commitment, a wedding, and all the joy that brought to our family

~~::~~

our friendship regained, walking with me through bad boyfriends, good boyfriends, and finally, another wedding

~~::~~

holding my firstborn in your arms with all kinds of love and affection

~~::~~

the excitement and awe of hearing dad’s voice telling me of the wonderful news of your daughter and again, more joy that would pour out on our family

~~::~~

moving back “home” and finding peace in the memories and anticipation of the new ones to be built with our two families

~~::~~

another daughter for you, another son for me, bliss

~~::~~

I love you, little brother.

I hope we get another 38 years to spend in this life together because I am so thankful for the first 38 God gave us.

