Let’s see…

On October 1st I committed to writing a blog post every day for an entire month. I wrote my first-ever blog post on July 10, 2008. I’ve got 230 blog posts under my belt thus far, but this October was the first time I had ever made a goal regarding my blogging efforts and thankfully, I accomplished my first blogging goal!

As I look back at October I’m not just surprised that I completed the goal, since most days seem unpredictable in my life (still) since having children. I’m actually shocked I completed the goal because a majority of October I felt like complete crud and my days were in more flux than they already typically are.

For the most part, the challenge to post every day was a positive experience. I enjoyed meeting up with some new bloggers, getting feedback from those I personally know and those I’ve met along the way, and I became increasingly thankful for the weekly photo challenges as I didn’t feel quite so “pressured” to have to get words on paper just to meet the daily quota.

The only real downside to the experience, which could be looked at as an upside I guess, is that I could not imagine committing to blogging a post every single day of the year. About half-way through the month I got a little tired of “me.” I think writing is highly valuable for anyone and everyone, whether it’s in the form of journaling, writing poetry, getting a storyline onto paper, writing a column or an article, and the list goes on. But there’s a difference between writing every day versus publishing every day. Publishing is public, whether it’s to 10 people or 1000 people, and it can be a difficult balance sometimes of fighting the “showboat” feel to it rather than just journaling the thoughts out and calling it good.

My intent to blog has never been a shout out to the world, “Look at me! Here I am! I’m interesting, funny, and don’t you want to know every single thing there is to know about ME???” Yet when blogging first became a trendy thing to do, that’s kind of what I thought about bloggers in general. It wasn’t until I started to see blogs of those I personally knew that I started to change my tune and saw the value in sharing thoughts and experiences with others.

So, even though I don’t see myself up for a daily challenge for longer than a month anytime in the future, I do think it’s a lot more feasible to post more frequently than I used to before the challenge. I think 3 to 4 days a week is a good place to start at this point. I’m also strongly considering purchasing my own URL and getting rid of “garden gal” altogether since it’s a bit limiting and gardening is the least thing that I commit any time to these days!!

I’ve decided to “hide” my blog about gentleness for now, as I really do not have the desire to find the time to blog at two different places. It may pop back into view at some point in the future.

And finally, I’m sticking with WordPress and the name of the blog. I am constantly changing my mind about the look of the blog, so come back to “visit” from your reader every few months to see how things have changed around here!

Thanks for your encouragement, your comments, your thoughts. And thanks for letting me share things like The Vomit Chronicles and not deleting me from your emails or readers altogether!!

photo credit

