What could a dragon, an old lady & a pig have to do with each other? It’s time for another round of Library Book Reviews, of course!

>> :: <<

Me and My Dragon
by David Biedrzycki

I couldn’t tell what I liked more about this recently published story: the pictures or the story itself. Let’s start with the artwork.

clip_image002Smashingly bold, but not “babyish.” It really speaks to the young male reader with it’s dark use of reds and blues but still allows for that “innocent” connection with the facial expressions of the characters. I love love love the red dragon in every single picture. It makes me want a dragon!

The story is simple but full of imagination. Didn’t you know there were 7 Tips For Raising a Dragon? One obvious tip is to Keep a Fire Extinguisher Handy, of course. But how about NEVER, EVER Feed Him Broccoli? Yep, bet you never thought of that one before!

>> :: <<

The Old Woman Who Named Things
by Cynthia Rylant

I think I finally found it. When I read the last page of this book for the first time, I decided that this is my favorite children’s book…so far.

clip_image002[8]I really related to the Old Woman throughout the story, not so much that I could see myself giving objects names like Betsy, Roxanne or Franklin. It was the reason behind the object naming that struck a chord with me, along with the desire for things to always stay the way they are.

If you can get to the page that shows the Old Woman sitting on her front steps in her cowboy boots with a red sweater on and holding a pail in her hands without feeling a twinge of sadness, I guess I could understand.

But if you get to the page where the Old Woman is staring out a window and you don’t feel thankful for the friends in your own life, then I might think you were made of stone.

Three words: Read. This. Book.

>> :: <<

The Princess and The Pig
by Jonathan Emmett

A few years ago I read about the importance of incorporating all types of books into your child’s reading repertoire, not just picking out the books you think they’d be interested in. So while D enjoys a good read about dinosaurs or tractors or animals of all kinds, I do try to branch out now and then. We’ve read a few Madeline books, some Dora and I even tried a Fancy Nancy one…but he had no interest in her. Hah!

clip_image002[14]While the cover of this particular “princess” book looks a bit “girlish” to me, I wasn’t discouraged. It had the word PIG splashed across the front and I figured that would reel him in. And it did!

While the two main characters are females, the story is actually about two families. One family values honesty, relationships and integrity, while the other family values high society, maintaining the status quo, and is concerned with keeping up appearances.

A fun tidbit is how various Fairy Tales are woven throughout the story. It’s a clever story, the artwork is whimsical, and the characters are easy to fall in love with – depending on which family you want to be a part of!

