Blog stuff - Page 001

~ 1 ~

Were you able to spend the Thanksgiving holiday with your loving family this year? Me too! While we had a nice handful of guests in our home that day, it’s nothing compared to having to plan for 20 or more people for a special occasion. I came across this very true letter sent from the host of a Thanksgiving dinner to the guests in attendance and I find it absolutely hilarious. I know planning a gathering takes a lot of effort and coordination on everyone’s part, but I hope I don’t get to the “Marney Level” of OCD if our family gets any bigger than it is!! I think my favorite part of the letter is her last line, like she’s actually looking forward to spending it with those she is addressing in her letter, even though it’s obvious she thinks they don’t have a clue about how to do family gatherings. Priceless!!

~ 2 ~

I have a problem with organizing. I can get organized, no problem. But for some reason I can not stay organized. Take for instance my kitchen counter. No matter what I do to organize, no matter how frequently I go through the papers, it always ends up looking like this within hours of my efforts:

IMG_4253

And that actually looks better than usual! Papers, magazines, receipts and everything in between collects right there. All it makes me want to do is AVOID it. Since the pile is on the kitchen counter, my kitchen is the last thing to get cleaned in my house! Then I came across this blog post recently and I actually got giddy at the thought of a kitchen counter with nothing on it.

~ 3 ~

I know you’ve ALL been dying to know my thoughts about  the long-term use of a Bounce Bar….right?? It’s been 11 or so months of using one and I have to say, I’m impressed! I have only had to replace it ONCE and that was about 2 months ago. So, 2 bars in 1 year is pretty darn frugal in my opinion. There is one downside to using something that is semi-permanent in your dryer. If you dry any amount of microfiber cloths, then this product will not be for you. Any fabric sheet or dryer bar in the dryer will remove the “cling” in your microfiber cloths, which will basically turn them into a regular cotton cloth before too long. While you can remove the Bounce Bar fairly easily, I think it would be a hassle if you had to do it more than a few times a month.

~ 4 ~

clip_image003The State of Nevada recently joined other states in the union, like California, by making it a law that you can’t talk on your cell phone while driving a car unless you have a hands-free listening device. I’ve been used to this law for quite some time now and while I am all for it in light of safety reasons there is one area of the law that I absolutely moan and groan about. At least once a month, sometimes more, I lose the required listening device. It doesn’t matter if I have a specific place in my purse that it’s housed in or if there’s a certain spot in my home that I put it every night. It just vanishes. Gone. * Poof * I think I’ve spent more hours looking for the darned thing than actually using it. Guess what? I thought I lost it again recently. But no, apparently D decided to “hide” it under a blanket. Fun!

~ 5 ~

Since Christmas is just around the corner, I’m sure you’re thinking about gifts. Here’s a few places where you can find some unique gifts while at the same time supporting those in poverty and oppression in the world. If you receive a Christmas gift from me this year, it will most likely be coming from one of these Fair Trade stores:

Trade as One www.tradasone.com Here is where you can purchase a variety of products that have been manufactured under Fair Trade laws, anything from chocolate to stationary to Christmas ornaments. From the Trade as One website:

When we buy something cheaply we have to ask ourselves who paid the true price of that product — because someone somewhere paid…Fair Trade is essentially the exchange of goods based on principals of economic and social justice.

The Apparent Project www.apparentproject.org This non-profit organization works specifically with impoverished parents in Haiti. They train parents in various skills such as jewelry making, bookbinding and sewing. From their website:

While the Apparent Project advocates passionately for the adoption of true orphans we also believe that preventing child abandonment by economically empowering Haitian families is the best way to rescue children. This is why we have created opportunities for impoverished parents to earn an income through our artisan program.

To purchase items the are made directly from parents in Haiti, visit their online store at http://markethaiti.com/.

~ 6 ~

I realize there are plenty of gifts that aren’t available from Fair Trade sites, like a few items on my own personal “wish list” this year. If you’re so inclined to get me a gift in the next few months (a BIG birthday coming up – hint hint), here’s a few items to consider ~

Simplicity Parenting, by Kim John Payne
Make the Bread, Buy the Butter, by Jennifer Reese

Gift card ideas:

Trader Joe’s, Old Navy, or Southwest Airlines (my best buddy is moving far away and I’m gonna need some fundage to go see her when I want to!!)

>>::<<

Only 27 days until Christmas! I’m looking forward to baking up some goodies for neighbors and friends, wrapping gifts and enjoying time with my ever-lovin’ family. Happy Christmas planning!

